New account registrations are disabed. This website is now an archive. Read more here.
zahraa

Let's Discuss!

Heya everybody!!!

I haven't made any new topics recently :o Anyway...

We're all surrounded by our "mental models" which we need to update/change time by time and since we're game developers, We need to do it more often :P So I have a few subjects about game development here for open discussion, I think every game developer has thought about them and has his/her own answers. So let's share!

How to make a threat look real? Well in every game which has an actual story there is at least one threat that player wants to stop. The question is that, How to make it seem real? How can we show that there is a real danger (When there is actually no danger XD)? In such cases, I try to think as a player, I try to guess about what's going to happen next. Now as a game developer, I know what I should NOT put in the story. Another fact that I use is that human's nature considers unknowns as dangers, So whenever I feel like the player is about to learn too much about the threat, I try to disturb him/her with something else. Though it might disappoint the player at some point so I must be careful.

Character development stereotypes, Yes or no? Almost everyone knows that characters shouldn't be too good or too bad (Mostly in story driven and third person games) But there are always some stereotypes, For example in many games the protagonist is young and attractive. Now some game developers try to break it. As a game developer I don't think it's a bad idea but as a player, It's a big problem in the game :P Seriously, I'm always less motivated to play these kind of games. It might be so silly but it's what a player thinks! So I'm not going to change these stereotypes in my game and I know many game developers don't agree- I want to hear you!