New account registrations are disabed. This website is now an archive. Read more here.
Meteor Rain

Feedback on sprite/map?

Hey, so I've just made a new map through photoshop. It's my first time making a map like this so I require some feedback on this ^^

2iivdig.png

There are mainly two things I want to know:

1. Does the sprite kinda fit the map? I tried many sort of sprites but I eventually fell back on using the RTP enlarged a lot + some black outlinings. Anything I could do to improve?

2. Notice the shadow of the tree on the building. I know that normally this shadow would be kinda distorted because it switches from ground to building. How would I go about displaying this distortion? Anyone an idea?

oh Wow it's so beautiful! Though the sprite looks kinda out of place and strange...I'd suggest you to use Loose Leaf generator to make better-looking sprites! Try this one:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5-jLv4bIHKDWVJxa05LNDB4aFE/view?usp=sharing

And the shadow looks fine imo. The map is very nice!

Thank you for the generator and file name! This is what it ended up looking like. Which one do you think is better? ( I have a bad eye for stuff like this :< )

2edqsmw.png

I think objectively looking all of the RPG maker sprites will not blend in too well as they are not really meant for this kind of map. There's something off about them, I wish it as just pin-pointable what exactly it is :(

@Omar thank you^^. I got really lucky to get that tint right in one try lol. Nothing else I tried looked quite as fine.

Edited by Meteor Rain

I think Omar and Zahraa speak for some things, it is undeniably beautiful, but there are two things I would change to make it even better, the first is about your sprite that you are using, and the second is about some of the shadowing, which isn't as major.