New account registrations are disabed. This website is now an archive. Read more here.
GraveBusta

Where to begin?

I am thinking that maybe I should practice a bit but maybe not. I am not a pro so I seek advice from those who know what they are doing. Should I practice by working on a fanmade game (yeah I know this is a very sensitive style of game design the only legal ones I see thus far to be openly distributed is touhou which is not an issue for me I like the art style) or jump right into my own series with no experience possibly wrecking any potential for story and plot and making a bad game.

1. I do have help and this game is going to be an action rpg and he is helping me script game maker studio to make the RPG mechanics built in to it.

2. I have no intent to throw RMXP away when I do go for the main series I plan on making it on multiple genre so RMXP will be my 2D turn based and maker3D will be my 3D turn based.

This is all hard work and I do not expect it to be done over night.

Please should I do fanmade to gain experience or should I just skip into the main series?

Doesn't matter if it's fanmade or not. Make whatever you want, as long as you enjoy it. My advice is that you should make smaller games first, but do them to the very best of your abilities. This will help you to build up your experience in using RMXP and to learn to use all the tools efficiently and to the most extent.